Henderson Named FWA Annual Player Of The Year

HesGoalJuly 25, 2020

LONDON: Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson has been named the Sports Writers Association (FWA) Annual Player of the Year after leading the Reds to winning the English Premier League (EPL) for the first time in 30 years.

The 30-year-old beat Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne; Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford and teammates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane.

Not only did he excel to help Liverpool lead the chart with 18 points, Henderson also showed his credibility off the field as the league rivalry was postponed for three months following the coronavirus.

He spearheaded the PlayersTogether initiative during the quarantine period to raise funds for the National Health Service (NHS).

“I received this award representing the whole team because without other players, I would not be in this position.

“Teammates make me a better player, leader and individual.

“I hope those who voted also appreciate the contribution of all the players.”

In addition to the five players involved, 10 other players also received votes, namely Trent Alexander-Arnold, Alisson Becker, Raheem Sterling, Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Sergio Aguero, Adama Traore, Danny Ings, Jack Grealish, James Maddison and Jonny Evans.